Las Vegas HEALS to Honor Exceptional Group of Healthcare Professionals at 7th Annual ‘Inspired Excellence in Healthcare Awards’

Las Vegas HEALS (Health, Education, Advocacy and Leadership of Southern Nevada), a nonprofit membership-based healthcare association, has announced its illustrious group of honorees as part of the 7th Annual “Inspired Excellence in Healthcare Awards.”

Inspired by the pioneer exploits of Dr. Royce W. Martin, Las Vegas’ first chief surgeon, circa 1905, the awards ceremony will recognize the following selection of healthcare leaders who have set a higher standard for the healthcare community in Southern Nevada:

Lindsay T. Hansen, MD
Chairman, Department of Medicine – Summerlin Hospital
Medical Director – El Jen Convalescent Hospital & Plaza Regency

Deborah A. Kuhls, MD, FACS
Professor, Trauma & Critical Care – UNLV School of Medicine
Medical Director, Trauma Intensive Care Unit – UMC

Eddy H. Luh, MD, FACS
Partner/Vascular Surgeon – Las Vegas Surgical Associates
Chief of Surgery – Valley Hospital

David Marlon, MBA, MS, LADC, CAD
Vice President – American Addiction Centers
Founder/President – Solutions Recovery, Inc.

Rupesh J. Parikh, MD
Medical Oncologist, Practice President – Comprehensive Cancer Centers
Chief of Staff, Dignity Health – St. Rose Dominican Hospitals

Mark Winkler, MD
Partner/Radiologist – Steinberg Diagnostic Medical Imaging
Director, Medical Advisory Board, Cannon Medical Systems


Past recipients have included the following healthcare leaders: Dr. Joseph Adashek, Dr. Chowdhury Ahsan, Dr. Mary Ann Allison, Dr. Howard Baron, The Honorable Shelley Berkley, Dr. Charles Bernick, Dr. Joel Bower, Dr. Dale Carrison, Dr. Jim Christensen, Dr. Michael Ciccolo, Mr. Bob Cooper, Dr. Michael Crovetti, Dr. Jeff Cummings, Dr. Rutu Ezhuthachan, Dr. Mitchell Forman, Dr. Oscar Goodman, Jr., Dr. Joe Hardy, Dr. Don Havins, Dr. Florence Jameson, Dr. Yevgeniy Khavkin, Dr. Edwin Kingsley, Dr. J.D. McCourt, Dr. Russ Nevins, Dr. Ben Rodriguez, Dr. Anashu Shah, Dr. David Steinberg, Dr. Steven Thomas, Dr. Nick Vogelzang, Dr. Troy Watson, Dr. Dyland Wint, and Dr. Carolyn Yucha.

“This year’s Inspired Excellence in Healthcare Award recipients embody the highest standards of integrity and quality healthcare,” said Doug Geinzer, CEO of Las Vegas HEALS. “These individuals have raised the bar by making our community better every day. We are thrilled to be honoring them this year as we celebrate the 15th anniversary of Las Vegas HEALS.”

The 7th annual gala will take place from 5:30 – 9:00 p.m. on Thursday, Oct. 25 at the Four Seasons Hotel in Las Vegas. The event promises to once again be an amazing night highlighting some of Southern Nevada’s innovative healthcare leaders. Individuals interested in attending or sponsoring the event should contact Las Vegas HEALS at 702-952-2477 or visit the Inspired Excellence in Healthcare Awards page. Additionally, event sponsorship opportunities and tickets are available.

About Las Vegas HEALS
Founded in 2002, Las Vegas HEALS (Health, Education, Advocacy, and Leadership in Southern Nevada) is a nonprofit, membership-based association whose mission is to foster strategic alliances in the healthcare community, collaborating on workforce issues, and being a proactive force for legislative initiatives to improve access and the delivery of quality healthcare. The organization now represents members who collectively employ over 34,000 healthcare professionals. Multiple task forces, councils and committees meet on a regular basis to address various issues and opportunities.